Skip to main content

Copyright: Public Domain Resources

image

 

The following links will connect you with collections where the majority of works are Public Domain. Please note that it is the individual’s responsibility to clarify each collection’s terms of use.

1. HathiTrust contains over 3,500,000 volumes of Public Domain works

2. Project Gutenberg offers access to over 40,000 freely downloadable e-books. For additional Canadian content visit Project Gutenberg Canada.

3. Internet Archive’s collection includes digitized books, audio and video files as well as copies of websites. The Terms of Use for this site are restricted to “scholarship and research purposes only” (Terms of Use).

4. The US Library of Congress' American Memory "provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.” (Mission and History). Copyright differs throughout the collection; consult the Legal Notices page for more information.  

5. International Music Score Library is a database of over 200,000 musical scores and 25,000 recordings.

6. Public Domain Sherpa - Public Domain maps lists online resources for maps with a mixture of both copyright and Public Domain material.  

7. Wikimedia Commons provides access to 18,000,000 freely downloadable media files.

8. Data Hub provides users with lists of links to Public Domain collections with a focus on media files.

Library Contact Info and Hours