Skip to main content

AskAway Policy Page: Home

North Island College AskAway Policy Page

Library Homepage http://library.nic.bc.ca/
General Information
Library Branches

Comox Valley

Campbell River

Port Alberni

Mixalakwila

Library Hours http://libguides.nic.bc.ca/AboutUs/Home
Library Policies  
Library Floor Plans N/A

Circulation/

Checkout/

Loans Phones Numbers

Comox Valley: (250) 334-5037

Campbell River: (250) 923-9785

Port Alberni : (250) 724-8733

Mixalakwila: 250-949-7912 ext 2844

Reference Desk Contact

Comox Valley: 250-334-5293

Toll-free: 1-800-715-0914 ext. 5293

Email: library.research@nic.bc.ca

Resources & Services
Library Search

Discovery Search (search everything) is the default search on our homepage: http://library.nic.bc.ca/

Direct access to Discovery Search: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,guest&custid=s5672520&groupid=main&profile=eds

Library Catalogue

Books & Media tab on our homepage: http://library.nic.bc.ca/

Direct access to the catalogue: https://catalogue.nic.bc.ca/

Indexes & Databases

A-Z List: http://libguides.nic.bc.ca/az.php

Ejournals http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,guest&custid=s5672520&profile=eds&plp=1&direct=true&groupid=main
Off Campus Database Authentication

Use myNIC user ID (lowercase letter 'n' followed by student number. For example, n0999999).

http://ezproxy.nic.bc.ca:2048/login

Subject Guides http://libguides.nic.bc.ca/
Citation Guides https://libguides.nic.bc.ca/citation
Instruction https://libguides.nic.bc.ca/c.php?g=659113&p=4718240
Librarians

Mary Anne Guenther, Coordinator of Library Services; Ph: (250) 334-5001; email: maryanne.guenther@nic.bc.ca.

Lynette Gallant, Public Services Librarian; Ph: (250) 334-5097; email: lynette.gallant@nic.bc.ca.

Reserves 'Course Reserves' tab on the library homepage: http://library.nic.bc.ca/
Interlibrary Loans

Information: http://libguides.nic.bc.ca/c.php?g=591258&p=4088121

Technical Help IT helpdesk in library and learning commons : http://libguides.nic.bc.ca/StudentTech
Borrowing Information
Library Cards http://libguides.nic.bc.ca/c.php?g=492543#library card
Loan Periods https://libguides.nic.bc.ca/borrowingservices (Loan Periods & Fines tab)
Holds/ Recalls/ Requests http://libguides.nic.bc.ca/c.php?g=492543&p=3369401#reserve
Renewals
 

https://libguides.nic.bc.ca/borrowingservices (see 'Loan Periods & Fines' tab for the number of renewals allowed on different items)

Items can be renewed by calling the library or online via My Account: https://catalogue.nic.bc.ca/uhtbin/cgisirsi.exe/x/COMOX_V/0/1/488/X

Fines/ Penalties http://libguides.nic.bc.ca/borrowingservices (Loan Periods & Fines tab)
Borrowing Policies http://libguides.nic.bc.ca/c.php?g=492543&p=3369401#borrow
Library Account Information https://libguides.nic.bc.ca/c.php?g=492543&p=3369401#renew
Equipment & Facilities
Internet Access/Wireless Access

All library computers are open access.

Wireless is available in all libraries for students. Connect to nic-wifi and use myNIC credentials. See https://libguides.nic.bc.ca/studenttech/print (Wi-Fi tab) for more details.

Photocopiers & Printers & Scanners

http://libguides.nic.bc.ca/studenttech/print

B & W Printing: 10 cents per page

Colour Printing: 20 cents per page

Scanning to email or USB: Free

Microfilm/Microfiche N/A
Meeting/Study Rooms http://libguides.nic.bc.ca/roombookings
Computers on Campus http://libguides.nic.bc.ca/studenttech/computers
Learning Commons
Research Support

https://libguides.nic.bc.ca/researchhelp

(Research desk appointments can also be booked on this page)

Writing Support https://libguides.nic.bc.ca/WritingSupport
Peer Tutoring https://libguides.nic.bc.ca/PeerTutoring
Math Support https://libguides.nic.bc.ca/MathSupport
IT Support https://libguides.nic.bc.ca/studenttech
Campus Information
Academic Calendar

Academic Schedules & Deadlines: https://www.nic.bc.ca/student-services/key-dates/academic-schedules-deadlines/

NIC Programs & Courses: https://www.nic.bc.ca/programs-courses/

Elder College: http://www.nic.bc.ca/eldercollege/

Continuing Education: https://www.nic.bc.ca/continuing-education/

Class Timetable https://nicconnect.nic.bc.ca/WebAdvisor/WebAdvisor?type=P&pid=ST-WESTS16A
Exam Schedule https://www.nic.bc.ca/student-services/key-dates/exam-schedule/
Campus Maps

Comox Valley: https://www.nic.bc.ca/about-us/our-locations/comox-valley/

Campbell River: https://www.nic.bc.ca/about-us/our-locations/campbell-river/

Port Alberni: https://www.nic.bc.ca/about-us/our-locations/port-alberni/

College Website https://www.nic.bc.ca/
Other Resources
Faculty Resources

https://libguides.nic.bc.ca/faculty

Copyright Guide: https://libguides.nic.bc.ca/copyright

 

Library Contact & Hours | Privacy